Award News

awardsrick-micoli-200x200by Rick Micoli
May 17, 2018

Genesee Valley Region
Awards for the 2018 Ski Season



This will be my last report as your Regional Awards advisor and want to welcome Kris Vasiliauskas as the new advisor. This is one of the best positions in the region and I want to thank all of the patrol chairs and reps for all the support through those 6 years. I especially want to thank Jerry Sherman who has mentored me and cultivated our awards effort to produce the success that we had.

It was with great honor that we inducted Scott Mundrick into NSP’s Hall of Fame in March with NSP Chairman Rick Knight and DD John Kane present all Bristol’s patrol meeting. Congratulations to Scott.

We were able to recognize 3 new National appointments this season all from Swain: Steve Shelley (112020); Mike Wangler (112018) and Richard Stearns (112022).

With some retirements we recognized Distinguished Service for MaryJo DeBolt from Bristol and Ann Boise from Brantling and Peter Parker, Jr. from Hunt Hollow.

In recognition for his 6 years of service to the region as Assistant Region Director, Jeff Welch was awarded an MSA (Meritorious Service Award). Thanks for your outstanding leadership.

On the Eastern Division level, Bristol Mountain was awarded, for the second time in 4 years, the Outstanding Large Alpine Patrol Award. This award will be forwarded to National and they await a possible National Gold Medal in a July announcement. Congratulations to all the Alpine patrollers, Patrollers and officers over the past 4 years for their consistent level of excellence.

Our region’s Alumni program was recognize as Outstanding, when Nick Schiavetti was given the Eastern Division’s Outstanding Alumni Award. Anyone involved in the alumni program has experienced his dedication to that program.

At this writing, there are several other awards that have not been presented and will be in the Fall.